After Mrs Rochester


ISBN: 9781854597458
Author: Polly Teale
Publication Date: 10/07/2003
Publisher: Nick Hern Books
Extent: 96pp.


The hit show from Shared Experience Theatre Company based on the tortured and passionate life of Jean Rhys and her most famous book, Wide Sargasso Sea, the prequel to Jane Eyre.

In Wide Sargasso Sea – ‘one of the works of genius of the 20th century’ Times – Jean Rhys first gave voice to Bertha Mason, Mr Rochester’s first wife in Jane Eyre. Placing Bertha on stage throughout as Jean’s alter ego, this dramatization of Rhys’ life gives full vent to her obsession with the “mad woman in the attic".

Additional information


ePub, Mobi, Print