The performing arts publisher


quick | advanced


My Cart

Items : 0
Sub total : $0.00

View Cart 
Shipping Policy

Brumby Innes / Bid Me to Love  

Brumby Innes / Bid Me to Love $27.27 ex GST
$29.99 inc GST

'I consider Brumby Innes to be in a class by itself' wrote theatre director Gregan McMahon in 1927, 'It is a very remarkable work, comparable to some of the best of Eugene O'Neill's, and it is, moreover, essentially Australian.'

Despite the accolades for Brumby Innes, it was 44 years before this ‘remarkable work’ reached the stage; and 45 years for its companion piece, Bid Me To Love. The one, set among the South Pandjima people of the remote Pilbara region of Western Australia, the other among the fashionable rich in the lush hills outside Perth, the plays are compelling documents, both for their pungent dramatic styles and for their insight into the novels which followed: Coonardoo and Intimate Strangers. In this new edition, Maryrose Casey re-examines Brumby Innes in the context of its treatment of women and race, while Jacqueline Wright explores Katharine Susannah Prichard’s use of language and the shifting focus of the white gaze.


Cast : 6F, 8M; 4F, 4M + children

Currency Press | 978-1-76062-191-9 | Sales rights: worldwide | PB


Katharine Susannah Prichard (1883–1969) was born in Levuka, Fiji, where her father was editor of the Fiji Times. She matriculated from South Melbourne College and worked briefly as a governess. She later taught in Melbourne studying English literature at night.

In 1908 she travelled to London, working as a freelance journalist for the Melbourne Herald and, on her return, as the social editor of the Herald's women's page. In 1912 she again left for England to pursue a career as a writer and published two novels, The Pioneers (1915) and Windlestraws (1916). She met the Australian Victoria Cross winner, Captain Hugo Throssell while away and in 1919 married him, and moved to Western Australia. Already a committed Communist, in 1920, she was a founding member of the Communist Party of Australia. In 1922 her only son Ric Throssell was born. While she was on a trip to the Soviet Union in 1933 her husband committed suicide.

From the 1920s until her death she lived at Greenmount, Western Australia, earning her living as a writer of novels, short stories and plays. Her novels include Black Opal, 1921; Working Bullocks, 1926; The Wild Oats of Han, 1928; Coonardoo, 1928; Haxby's Circus, 1929; Intimate Strangers, 1939; and the goldfields trilogy The Roaring Nineties, 1946; Golden Miles, 1948; and Winged Seeds, 1950. Prichard was a member of the Communist Party of Australia until her death, and her political concerns were reflected in most of her published work. Her novels were published throughout the world and translated into numerous languages. In 1951 she was nominated for the Nobel Prize for Literature.