The performing arts publisher


quick | advanced


My Cart

Items : 0
Sub total : $0.00

View Cart 
Shipping Policy

Mourning Becomes Electra  

Mourning Becomes Electra $19.95 ex GST
$21.95 inc GST
Mourning Becomes Electra, first staged in 1931, is O'Neill's powerful three-part reworking of themes from Greek tragedy, particularly the Oresteia of Aeschylus. Relocated to New England in 1865 just after the end of the Civil War, the plays tell of a returning victor, General Ezra Mannon (Agamemnon), poisoned by his unfaithful wife, Christine (Clytemnestra), and then avenged by his son, Orin (Orestes), and daughter Lavinia. With Orin's subsequent suicide, Lavinia (the Electra of the title) becomes a fatalistic recluse in the Mannon mansion.      

Cast : 7M, 5F

Nick Hern Books | 978-1-85459-138-8 | Sales rights: Australia/NZ | PB


Eugene O’Neill, born in New York City in 1888, is the author of over twenty plays including Moon for the Misbegotten, Anna Christie, The Emperor Jones, Desire Under the Elms, The Great God Brown, The Hairy Ape, All God's Chillun Got Wings, A Touch of the Poet, Mourning Becomes Electra, Long Day's Journey into Night, Strange Interlude and The Iceman Cometh.

He was the first American to win the Nobel Prize for Literature. He died in 1951.

By Eugene O'Neill, available from Currency Press - see all