The performing arts publisher


quick | advanced


My Cart

Items : 0
Sub total : $0.00

View Cart 
Shipping Policy

Sonata for Clarinet (or Viola) and Piano (1949)  

Sonata for Clarinet (or Viola) and Piano (1949) $22.68 ex GST
$24.95 inc GST

Edited by Peter Jenkin, Patricia Pollett and David Bollard. One of the most significant works written for clarinet (or viola) by an Australian composer in the first half of the twentieth century, representing a break from the pervading English influence of the period towards a more consciously Australian form of expression. A constantly performed classic in the AMEB A.Mus listing. With notes on the composer and performance notes.

Currency Press | 978-0-86819-330-4 | Sales rights: worldwide, except Aust/NZ | PB


Margaret Sutherland was born into an unusually gifted family. She studied with Edward Goll in Melbourne before embarking on a career as concert pianist and teacher. But composition was her true passion. Despite financial constraints, her determination took her to Europe where she gained a wide acquaintance with the works of major composers such as Debussy, Ravel, Stravinsky, Bartok and the Viennese school. Back in Australia she fought isolation and indifference as, in the words of Roger Covell, she 'naturalised the twentieth century in Australian music'.