The performing arts publisher

Search

quick | advanced

 

My Cart

Items : 0
Sub total : $0.00

View Cart 
Shipping Policy

Search

Author Profile

Biography

Stephen Jeffreys is the author of Valued Friends, a comedy about property values, for which he won the Evening Standard Most Promising Playwright Award, A Going Concern, about a small family business, The Clink about an Elizabethan stand-up comic and The Libertine, a bawdy comedy about the notorious Earl of Rochester, now a major film starring Johnny Depp, Samantha Morton and John Malkovich.

By Stephen Jeffreys, available through Currency Press - see all

Clink
$21.81 ex GST
$23.99 inc GST

Clink

Stephen Jeffreys
 
Elizabeth I is tottering at death's door. Conspirators are everywhere. Lucius Bodkin, an Elizabethan stand-up comedian, becomes unwillingly involved in the political skullduggery and jiggery-pokery surrounding the ailing queen.
 
A riotously funny satirical farce in the tradition of Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead and Shakespeare in Love.





Cast : 5M, 4F (doubling required)
Nick Hern Books | 978-1-85459-444-0 | Sales rights: Australia/NZ | PB
Convict's Opera, The
$19.95 ex GST
$21.95 inc GST

Convict's Opera, The

after John Gay's 'The Beggar's Opera'

Stephen Jeffreys
 
The world’s first musical - and still one of the best - The Beggar’s Opera is the raucous tale of lady's man Macheath and sweet Polly Peachum juggling love and deceit in the dirty underbelly of 18th Century London.
   
In a theatrical coup the opera is reimagined: writer Stephen Jeffreys ( The Art of War, The Libertine) and celebrated British director Max Stafford-Clark shift the setting to a creaking convict ship bound for Australia. To pass the time, a group of Second Fleet convicts put on an opera set in the world they’ve left far behind, and will probably never see again.
   
The Convict's Opera is a unique co-production between Sydney Theatre Company and Out of Joint, Max Stafford-Clark's legendary touring theatre company, it opens at Sydney Theatre in October 2008 before embarking on a tour of the UK between January and March 2009.
   
Featuring a cast of talented actor-musicians drawn from Britain and Australia, The Convict’s Opera brings together the classic folk songs of the original with some modern musical surprises—and plenty of infamy, intrigue, fun and romance.


Cast : 6M, 4F
Nick Hern Books  | 978-1-84842-015-1 | Sales rights: Australia/NZ | PB
Going Concern, A
$27.23 ex GST
$29.95 inc GST

Going Concern, A

Stephen Jeffreys
 
The technological revolution has not yet reached Chapel & Sons, an ailing family business making billiard tables. In the dilapidated workshop, three generations conspire against each other for control of the firm. The play is at once a lament for the passing of an industrial age, a retelling of the classic mythical struggle between fathers and sons and a thoroughly entertaining story.

Review
Blisteringly tough and funny -  Sunday Times



Cast : 7M, 1F
Nick Hern Books | 978-1-85459-270-5 | Sales rights: Australia/NZ | PB
I Just Stopped by to See the Man
$19.95 ex GST
$21.95 inc GST

I Just Stopped by to See the Man

Stephen Jeffreys
 

Tonight I'm up on stage, Robert Johnson number. I'm singing it and it hits me. Crossroads. That's where he'd go. He'd go to live at the crossroads.

Jesse Davidson, last of the old-time Delta blues singers, died fourteen years ago. But legends continue to surround him – like the story about him selling his soul to the devil so that he could play guitar. And the story that he isn't dead at all. When an English rock back hits town, their leader comes looking for the truth and triggers a confrontation of mythic proportions.

Review
Stephen Jeffreys's wonderful new play, set in Mississippi, 1975, is a fairy story about an old blues singer; about resurrection, survival and nostalgia. But, as usual with this writer, there is more to it than meets the dewy eye. ... This is a tough, sensitive play about values and commitments, heads and hearts - Sunday Times
Cast : 2M, 1F
Nick Hern Books | 978-1-85459-482-2 | Sales rights: Australia/NZ | PB
Libertine
$21.81 ex GST
$23.99 inc GST

Libertine

Stephen Jeffreys
 

An outrageously bawdy historical comedy about the Earl of Rochester, the notorious 17th-century poet and rake. Premiered at the Royal Court in 1994 and filmed in 2004 with Johnny Depp as Rochester.

The play centres on the moment when Rochester, friend and confident of Charles II and the most notorious rake of his age, falls in love with the actress Elizabeth Barry.

Thoroughly modern in its attitude to Rochester's sexual indulgence, the play is also a thrillingly convincing portrait of the period and an accomplished comedy of manners.

Review
'Bubbles and fizzes like champagne... and the dialogue drips with wonderful witticisms.' Financial Times

Cast : 8M, 5F
Nick Hern Books | 978-1-85459-277-4 | Sales rights: Australia/NZ | PB