Mojo Mickybo: Three Plays


ISBN: 9781854597014
Author: By Owen McCafferty
Publication Date: 29/11/2002
Publisher: Nick Hern Books
Extent: 96pp.
Availability: Available


Three astute, savvy early plays from Belfast writer Owen McCafferty.

In Mojo Mickybo, two Belfast lads, Mojo and Mickybo, relive the summer of 1970, when they were growing up in the city, playing headers, building huts and re-enacting cowboy movies.

At first, their friendship is immune to the sectarian violence taking place around them. But nobody is safe from it forever…

An unsentimental portrayal of innocence betrayed by communal hatred, Mojo Mickybo was first performed at Andrews Lane Studio, Dublin, in October 1998.

The Waiting List is a blackly comic monologue about a man who thinks he may have been put on a paramilitary hit list. It was first produced by Point Fields Theatre Company at the Old Museum Arts Centre in Belfast in 1994.

I Won’t Dance, Don’t Ask Me is a short monologue about a recently unemployed middle-manager slowly losing his mind. It was first performed at the Ulster Arts Club in Belfast in 1993.

Mojo Mickybo marries the polished ferocity of Howie the Rookie with the chirpy candour of Disco Pigs… This play is an energising reminder of the fact that all you need for truly magical theatre is a writer inspired by the thought of the stories that can be made on the stage’
Scotsman on ‘Mojo Mickybo’

‘A glorious, vivid little play full of verbal swagger… creates vast emotional ripples… small but lethal’
Guardian on ‘Mojo Mickybo’

‘Full of shocking home truths, made palatable by a witty, astute script’
Irish News on ‘The Waiting List’

‘A deeply affectionate and fiercely clear-eyed portrait of a recently unemployed middle-manager slowly losing his mind’
Sunday Tribune on ‘I Won’t Dance, Don’t Ask Me’

Additional information


ePub, Mobi, Print