Nicholas Wright: Five Plays


ISBN: 9781854594730
Author: By Nicholas Wright
Publication Date: 31/03/2000
Publisher: Nick Hern Books
Extent: 416pp.
Availability: Available

SKU: BK1930 Categories: , , Tags: ,

A rich selection of work by leading playwright Nicholas Wright, introduced by the playwright.

The plays contained in this volume are:

The Custom of the Country
An early play, premiered by the Royal Shakespeare Company in 1983, transposing John Fletcher and Philip Massinger’s bawdy Jacobean drama to 1890s Johannesburg.

The Desert Air
A wartime comedy set in Cairo in the 1940s, first staged by the Royal Shakespeare Company in 1985.

Mrs Klein
A play about the controversial psychoanalyst Melanie Klein, a haunting and poignant study of mother-daughter relationships, first performed at the National Theatre, London, in 1988. 

One Fine Day
A comedy about the gulf that separates Britain and Africa, premiered at the Riverside Studios, London, in 1980.

Set in Cape Town in 1952, Nicholas Wright’s debut play is about the early resistance to policies of apartheid or racial segregation. It was first staged at Riverside Studios, Hammersmith, in 1978, winning the George Devine Award for playwriting.

Additional information


ePub, Mobi, Print