Scotland Plays


ISBN: 9781854593832
Author: Edited by Philip Howard
Publication Date: 26/06/1998
Publisher: Nick Hern Books
Extent: 384pp.
Availability: Out of Print


A collection of seven plays by Scottish writers, selected and introduced by Philip Howard, artistic director of Edinburgh’s Traverse Theatre.

This volume contains:

Wormwood by Catherine Czerkawska (Traverse Theatre, 1997)
Depicts a family caught up in the Chernobyl disaster.

Brothers of Thunder by Ann Marie Di Mambro (Traverse Theatre, 1994)
A young, HIV-positive man takes refuge with a Catholic priest.

Passing Places by Stephen Greenhorn (Traverse Theatre, 1997)
A road movie for the stage.

One Way Street by David Greig (Traverse Theatre, 1995)
A one-man show set in Berlin.

Quelques Fleurs by Liz Lochhead (Assembly Rooms, Edinburgh, 1991)
A short two-hander about a childless couple.

One Good Beating by Linda McLean (Traverse Theatre, 1999)
A blackly comic play about two siblings who take revenge on their bullying father.

Lazybed by Iain Crichton Smith (Traverse Theatre, 1997)
A man refuses to get out of bed one morning.

Additional information


ePub, Mobi, Print