IAN DAVID was born in Perth and graduated from the AFTRS in Sydney in 1984. His groundbreaking documentary dramas Police State and Police Crop won AFI Awards in 1989 and 1990 respectively for Best Mini-Series/Telemovie and Best Screenplay for a Mini Series/Telemovie. In 1992, he wrote Joh’s Jury, which won the AWGIE Award for Best Television Screenplay. His three hour mini-series Blue Murder received the 1996 Logie Award for Most Outstanding Television Drama, AWGIE Award for Best Television Screenplay, and AFI Award for Best Screenplay. He has also written the eight-part comedy series, Bad, Cop, Bad Cop and a mini-series adaptation of the Robert Drewe memoir, The Shark Net. He received the 2001 Byron Kennedy Award and was awarded a Centenary Medal for service to Australian society and Australian filmmaking. A past President of the Australian Writers’ Guild, he continues to write for film and television.