Chekhov: Four Plays


ISBN: 9781854598455
Author: By Anton Chekhov Translated by Stephen Mulrine
Publication Date: 3/10/2005
Publisher: Nick Hern Books
Extent: 320pp.
Availability: Available


‘I detest the life I lead now, but when I think about the future, well, that’s something else! Everything seems so airy and bright, I can see a glimmer of light in the distance, I can see freedom…’

A physician by trade, Anton Chekhov was the author of many plays and short stories, and is widely regarded as the most notable dramatist writing at the turn of the twentieth century.

His four greatest tragicomedies – The Seagull, Uncle Vanya, Three Sisters and The Cherry Orchard – enshrine his status as one of the founding fathers of psychological realism and early modernism in European theatre.

This volume collects these four plays in sensitive and playable translations made direct from the original Russian, along with a full introduction to Chekhov, his times and his work.

The Nick Hern Books Drama Classic Collections bring together the most popular plays from a single author or a particular period. They offer students, actors and theatregoers a series of uncluttered, accessible editions, accompanied by comprehensive introductions.

Additional information


ePub, Mobi, Print