ISBN: 9781854590176
Author: Edited by Alasdair Cameron
Publication Date: 3/05/1990
Publisher: Nick Hern Books
Extent: 275pp.
Availability: Available


A collection of seven plays from Scottish writers, reflecting the upsurge in Scottish playwriting in the late twentieth century.

Selected and introduced by Alasdair Cameron, the collection draws on adventurous theatres such as the Edinburgh Traverse and touring groups including Wildcat and 7:84, as well as looking further afield.

The plays included in this volume are:

Writer’s Cramp by John Byrne
Debut play from the author of The Slab Boys.

Losing Venice by John Clifford
A parable on the consequences of military adventuring.

The Letter-Box by Ann Marie Di Mambro
A short play about a woman who’s been thrown out of her flat.

Saturday Night at the Commodore by Rona Munro
A woman remembers a painful teenage betrayal.

Elizabeth Gordon Quinn by Chris Hannan
Modern classic about an indomitable woman fighting to retain her dignity during the Glasgwegian rent-strikes of 1915.

Dead Dad Dog by John McKay
A short comedy about a trendy young Scotsman pursued by the ghost of his dad.

The Steamie by Tony Roper
Celebrates women’s work in a Glasgow wash-house.

Additional information


ePub, Mobi, Print