The Oresteia


ISBN: 9781854591739
Author: By Aeschylus Translated by Marianne McDonald, J. Michael Walton
Publication Date: 17/04/2007
Publisher: Nick Hern Books
Extent: 160pp.
Availability: Available

SKU: BK2319 Categories: , , Tag:

Drama Classics: The World’s Great Plays at a Great Little Price

The great trilogy of Greek tragedies about the end of the curse on the House of Atreus, comprising Agamemnon, Choephori (Libation-Bearers) and Eumenides (The Furies).

A fourth play, Proteus, originally formed part of a tetralogy, but has not survived.

The trilogy was first performed at the Dionysia festival in Athens in 458 BC, where it won first prize.

Translated and introduced by Marianne McDonald and J. Michael Walton

Additional information


ePub, Mobi, Print