Raging: Three Plays/Seven Years of Warfare in Ireland


ISBN: 9781839040863
Author: By Deirdre Kinahan
Publication Date: 24/03/2022
Publisher: Nick Hern Books
Extent: 136pp.
Availability: Available

SKU: BK3158 Category: Tag:

A trilogy of landmark plays commemorating seven years of warfare in Ireland, from the 1916 Easter Rising to the Civil War which began in 1922.

Wild Sky is a story of interlocking lives: of the politicised Josie Dunne, and of Tom Farrell, who is driven only by his love for her. As the Rising plays out, there are unforeseen consequences for everyone involved…

Embargo focuses on a pivotal moment during the Irish War of Independence in 1920, when dockers and railmen refused to transport armed troops or handle any weapons arriving from Britain.

Outrage follows two sisters, Alice and Nell, who play key roles in organising civic resistance and the propaganda war. Like everyone else in Ireland, they become deeply conflicted as the country spins toward a devastating Civil War.

Each of the three plays was first performed a century after the event which it depicts, and they were commissioned and performed by companies including Fishamble: The New Play Company, Meath County Council Arts Office, Dublin Port Company and Iarnród Éireann.

Together, they challenge the historical narrative, mixing true-life testimonies with powerful drama to create a theatrical hurricane of empathy, action and truth.

‘An unflinching look at the role of women is at the forefront of this gripping drama that brings hidden histories to the surface’
Guardian on ‘Outrage’

‘A soaringly touching piece, taking the tiny canvas of a love story between a boy and girl and giving it the compass of inevitable, pre-destined loneliness and loss… searing, beauteous simplicity’
Independent.ie on ‘Wild Sky’

‘Unashamedly humanistic… impressive layers of nuance’
Irish Times on ‘Embargo’

Additional information


ePub, Mobi, Print