Caryl Churchill Plays: Three


ISBN: 9781854593429
Author: By Caryl Churchill
Publication Date: 10/07/1997
Publisher: Nick Hern Books
Extent: 344pp.
Availability: Available

Related Titles

9781854592750: The Skriker
9781854590442: Mad Forest
9781854590169: Icecream

Spanning almost ten years and embracing a remarkable range of style and subject matter, this third volume of Churchill’s Collected Plays, introduced by the author, contains:

Icecream – an unsettling look at British attitudes to America, and vice versa
Mad Forest – Churchill’s response to the Romanian Revolution
The Skriker – a ‘spellbinding’ piece combining English folk tales with modern urban life
Thyestes – a ‘bleakly eloquent new translation of Seneca’s Roman tragedy’ (Sunday Times).

Plus two collaborative pieces combining word and dance:

Lives of the Great Poisoners – a libretto to music by Orlando Gough and choreography by Ian Spink
A Mouthful of Birds – written with David Lan

Caryl Churchill has been hailed as ‘a dramatist who must surely be amongst the best half-dozen now writing’ The Times

Additional information


ePub, Mobi, Print